5
\$\begingroup\$

I am looking at taking the Dual Wielder feat (PHB, p. 165), but I am not entirely sure as to how it works specifically. It includes the following benefit, among others:

You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light.

Does this second weapon attack require an additional action, or a bonus action, to carry out?

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

The second benefit of the Dual Wielder feat (PHB, p. 165) refers to the "Two-Weapon Fighting" section of the PHB found on page 195:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.

As such, the second attack requires a bonus action, as described in the Two-Weapon Fighting rule.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.