3
\$\begingroup\$

"The meditant gains the Improved Unarmed Strike feat as a bonus feat, and may count his meditant levels as monk levels for purposes of effects and prerequisites."

This piece of text is supposedly an official ruling on the Meditant Psychic Warrior archetype, but I can't seem to find its source anywhere. Is it in a book, or was it made via a forum post? I would like to know so I can A. Show my group the original primary source of this ruling and B. Find out if the rumored ruling that the archetype's Flurry of Strikes ability counts as Flurry of Blows can be dug up within the same source as well.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AndreasRönnqvist is half of Dreamscarred Press and can likely answer this question. I tried to research this question on the Dreamscarred Press forums, but forum searches I ran returned me to the home page. Perhaps a registered user would have better luck? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Sep 26 '15 at 10:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Andreas is not “half” of Dreamscarred Press at this point. He is one of the two founders, though, as I understand things. I’ve pinged him outside this site, so hopefully we can get one of those rare authoritative RAI answers. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Oct 26 '15 at 20:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan My statement was not intended to slight Dreamscarred Press employees but to amplify Rönnqvist's importance. I apologize for my oversight. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 26 '15 at 20:27
4
\$\begingroup\$

Old question, but I came across it in a web search. I figured I'd check in with an official book answer, as Ultimate Psionics (which has revised/updated/errata'ed rules for all the Psionics Dreamscarred had released previously) answered this specifically.

Under "Flurry of Strikes (Su)"(pg. 276), it specifically states:

"Flurry of strikes counts as flurry of blows for the purposes of effects and prerequisites."

It is perhaps worthwhile to note that while it "counts" as Flurry of Blows, it doesn't duplicate it. For example, the levels at which the extra attacks are obtained are different between F.o.Strikes and F.o.Blows. F.o.Strikes also interacts differently with weapons and with natural attacks then F.o.Blows does, etc.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

At the very end of the linked page is a copyright notice:

Psionics Expanded: Advanced Psionics Guide. Copyright 2011, Dreamscarred Press; Authors: Jeremy Smith and Andreas Rönnqvist.

The Meditant archetype is described on page 80 of the book. As far as I can see, the text on linked pfsrd page is the same.

The description of Flurry of Strikes doesn't mention Flurry of Blows at all, therefore, it doesn't count as such, though it wouldn't be an unreasonable houserule for it to do.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ How does this answer the question? Does the quoted rule not exist? \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Oct 27 '15 at 6:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.