9
\$\begingroup\$

I've just picked up the quickstart for Call of Cthulhu 7th edition, which I thought was great. Given that it seems to cover off most of the essential game crunch (conflict resolution, and character generation primarily), I'm wondering if I actually need to buy the full version.

I have a bunch of 5th ed books including the core book, so I'm covered for lore and adventures, and conversion doesn't seem difficult. Given that my coffers are running a little light and the new edition is kind of pricey even as a pdf, can I get away without purchasing it? Are there any essential rules that I can't get by combining the quickstart with previous editions?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ How could any answer not be opinion? \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Oct 1 '15 at 2:45
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ruut Because I'm asking what essential rules I'm missing? That's at least semi objective \$\endgroup\$ – synesthesia Oct 1 '15 at 3:00
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes you can get away without purchasing it.

Covered by Quickstart rules:

  • Character creation
  • Skill checks
  • Basic Sanity mechanics
  • Basic Combat mechanics
  • Basic Damage & healing mechanics

Covered by 5th edition core book

  • Skill descriptions
  • Full Sanity mechanics (regaining sanity through therapy, ...)
  • More Combat factors, such as cover and lightning (moon light, etc...)
  • More damage & health factors
  • Entities (monsters, old ones, ...) can be taken from any book which has descriptions (assuming you use stats for them)
  • Reading of Mythos tomes & lore
  • Spells descriptions & casting

I can't think of an essential rule that you're missing by combining both editions.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.