6
\$\begingroup\$

What happens when a creature has grapple as part of their attack (e.g. Constrict from a yuan-ti) attempts to use that on a cleric with the thunderbolt strike ability and has a successful hit?

Does the grapple auto fail? Does the cleric get pushed 10 feet back with the creature? What sort of sorcery of physics happens?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

13
\$\begingroup\$

The Constrict ability happens as soon as the yuan-ti hits, and the cleric is grappled by the yuan-ti.

Constrict. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 13). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the yuan-ti can’t constrict another target.

The Grappled condition includes this all-important clause:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

So when the Cleric uses Wrath of the Storm and chooses to add in the effect of Thunderbolt Strike, they will push the yuan-ti back, which will "remove the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler", and the grappled condition will end automatically.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .