A hidden ranger with Extra Attack attacks a surprised creature. Do both attacks benefit from Advantage, or just the first one?

If the ranger used Horde Breaker on another creature, would this attack benefit from Advantage?


3 Answers 3


From the PHB, page 195:

If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses.

So, the first attack is rolled with Advantage, but it reveals the attacker's position, so all consecutive attacks lose the advantage.

Make note that the rule does not state that only the attacked creature notices the attacker. Instead, all creatures that are able to see or hear the attack notice the attacker when he makes his first attack. If they can't see the attacker directly because the line of sight is obstructed, they still know roughly where he is.

Arguably, if the Ranger is in a position to Hide again from his secondary target (e.g. the Ranger is hidden from him behind a tree), he could do that and once again attack with advantage. However, hiding requires its own action, so the Ranger would have to have a special ability to Hide on the same turn as it's attacking.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Certain ranger abilities allow you to keep hidden if you miss your first attack. Might be relevant information :) \$\endgroup\$ Oct 6, 2015 at 17:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm having trouble following this answer, attacking while unseen gives you advantage, and if you attack while hidden then you give away your location. Then there is an unexplained gap and after that you no longer have advantage? How did giving away your location prevent you from having advantage? An invisible creature has known location, and it can be heard, but it still attacks with advantage right? Additionally, don't hidden creatures not normally make sound? Can they be detected just by hearing? The unseen attackers say hidden creatures are "unseen and unheard" right? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 5, 2019 at 13:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @jgn When you're hiding, you're the one making sure that you're unseen and unheard. A person trying to remain hidden will not attempt to do things they know will reveal their location, and thus are limited in what they can do. And the PHB states that you cannot attack someone and remain hidden. So when you attack, you do so knowing that it will reveal your position. So the sequence goes: 1.)You hide and enemies lose track of you. 2.)You make your first attack with advantage. 3.)Enemies notice your attack, and you're no longer hidden. 4.)Your second attack is made normally, without advantage. \$\endgroup\$
    – DaFluid
    Nov 11, 2019 at 13:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @jgn Invisible creatures are special in that they don't need to make any effort to remain unseen, and can be unseen in plain sight. So Invisibility was made into a condition that effectively gives creatures auto-hiding. But you can still tell their location by sound to be able to fight them at all. For everyone else,if your location is known it means your enemy can normally defend from your attacks, and can either walk to you or target your location with an attack. You can still stay behind cover to avoid most ranged attacks, but to attack you must briefly exit your cover,which gets you seen. \$\endgroup\$
    – DaFluid
    Nov 11, 2019 at 14:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DaFluid I think the PHB states you cannot approach someone and remain hidden, not that you can't attack. Moreover, there are rules for attacking while hidden in the unseen attackers section. It is step 3 that I'm not sure about. The rules explicitly say that your location is revealed, not that enemies automatically detect you. Where do you get this idea from? Not only that, but your idea seems to imply that knowing someones location is the same as being able to see them, which the same rules section says is not the same thing. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 12, 2019 at 3:27

Based on the above answer, if you are unseen and unheard, then you have advantage. Normally making an attack reveals you. However, certain combinations of effects could negate this, such as being under the effects of greater invisibility, silence and mirror image all at the same time, because:

  1. Greater Invisibility allows you to make the attack while remaining unseen.
  2. Silence prevents creatures from detecting you with sound, as they are deafened, thus allowing you to attack while remaining unheard.
  3. Finally, Mirror Image consistently changes your location, preventing them from determining your location by knowing where your attack came from. The combination of the three should prevent you from being located by virtue of the mechanics of mirror image and the other two fulfilling the requirements for being hidden. Based on the mechanics, you only have a 30% chance to be detected when you make a such an attack with three duplicates, and a 40% chance with two. This is slightly houserule, as the spell's rules do not cover shifting except when being attacked. However, perception checks to determine which one is real use the same mechanics normally, and this is a similar logical extension of the rules, as well as a worthwhile use of a 3rd-level spell and two 2nd-level spells.
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It is preferred that answers independently address the question; I suspect your "add-on" structure may garner downvotes. I suggest you review the advice in the linked meta post and re-work this answer to present as an independent answer to OP's question. (You could even delete the post while you work on it, then undelete it in a better form as a way to "protect" it from downvotes while in a nascent state.) \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Jul 13, 2016 at 18:36

You have advantage on all attacks made while unseen

The rules for Unseen Attackers and Targets clearly states:

When a creature can't see you, you have advantage on attack rolls against it.

Attacking while hidden does not mean people can see you

If you are hidden at the time, the rules add:

If you are hidden--both unseen and unheard--when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses.

Having your location revealed does not mean you have been detected. There are many places in the rules that talk about the difference between being seen, detected, and having a known location, including the rules for unseen targets:

Combatants often try to escape their foes' notice by hiding, casting the invisibility spell, or lurking in darkness.

Being hidden, invisible, or in darkness do not cause you to stop being detectable with other senses, nor do they hide your location. For example a creature walking around with invisibility can be heard and their location is known.

It also contains different rules for attacking a target when you know or don't know their location:

When you attack a target that you can't see, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. This is true whether you're guessing the target's location or you're targeting a creature you can hear but not see. If the target isn't in the location you targeted, you automatically miss, but the DM typically just says that the attack missed, not whether you guessed the target's location correctly.

The rules for Hiding also make a distinction:

You can't hide from a creature that can see you clearly, and you give away your position if you make noise, such as shouting a warning or knocking over a vase.

Making noise only gives away your position, it does not "break hiding" or let creatures automatically detect you. The rules for unseen attackers mirrors this wording. There is no uncertain terms, having your location revealed does not mean you are detected.

The Skulker feat also makes the same distinction:

When you are hidden from a creature and miss it with a ranged weapon attack, making the attack doesn't reveal your position.

When Hidden and using Extra Attack and Hordebreaker, you have advantage on all attacks

Here is the chain of events:

  1. The Ranger finds a DM approved hiding spot and the DM calls for a Stealth Check
  2. The DM determines of the Ranger beats the passive perception of the enemies, in this example they do
  3. The Ranger attacks:
    • They are unseen and so have advantage.
    • They are hidden, so when the attack hits or misses, their location is revealed.
  4. Repeat step 3 for Hordebreaker, and Extra Attack

At the end of this sequence, the Ranger has attacked 3 times with advantage, and has given away their location 3 times. They remain hidden, unseen, and unheard (although your DM may rule that their actions have made sufficient noise to reveal their location again).

The Ranger can now stealthily move away from their location since the enemy will likely attack that position. However enemies can try and guess the Ranger's new position, and they will most likely send someone to investigate the position by moving to gain line of sight, and also using the Search action.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .