Talking with my friends about the "alchemy" of the Alchemist class, we're fighting about the alchemist extracts. Look at this description:

Extracts are the most varied of the three. In many ways, they behave like spells in potion form

OK, now, we can assume that extracts are potions in some way, right? Now, look at this ability from the black dragon:

Corrupt Water (Su): Once per day an adult or older black dragon can stagnate 10 cubic feet of still water, making it foul and unable to support water-breathing life. The ability spoils liquids containing water. Liquid-based magic items (such as potions) and items in a creature's possession must succeed on a Will save (DC equal to the dragon's frightful presence) or become ruined.

Whoa! My alchemist occupies a space of 5 feet, and his extracts "are" potions. Now, he make a will save against this ability or not? Two to four alchemists can be affected by this ability?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I must remember, if I ever play an alchemist, to specify ahead of time that all of my extracts use a pure alcohol base. And also to play a dwarf. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Oct 9 '15 at 2:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GMJoe Go with oil instead. Even “pure” alcohol has water in it because distillation has an upper limit. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 10 '15 at 22:28

RAW: Yes.

Extracts are "Liquid-based magic items" (potions are simply one example).

  1. They are Liquid as you are specifically described as "drinking" them.
  2. And they are magic items: "An alchemist can create three special types of magical items—extracts, bombs, and mutagens"

So as per the rules all extracts on your person would be affected by Corrupt Water and would need to succeed on a Will Save or become ruined.

Side-note: Interestingly, Bombs also specifically mention liquid and Mutagens are "brewed", so at least by RAW, Corrupt Water could devastate any Alchemist it was cast on.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Most of these comments should probably be deleted. But here is a link to a forum thread discussing this topic: paizo.com/threads/… \$\endgroup\$ – Jonathon Oct 9 '15 at 14:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.