As per the errata to the D&D 3.0 DMG, as explained here, supernatural abilities can be dispelled as if they were spells. However, I have never seen a definition of what their caster level is, and you need to know that in order to roll the dispel check. So, is this a case of handbook dysfunction (the DMG says its possible, but neither the PHB nor the MM defines the caster level needed), or is there a definition somewhere I'm missing?


1 Answer 1


Caster level is usually equal to HD, except where explicitly noted otherwise.

From the “Special Abilities, Supernatural” glossary entry, page 315 of the Monster Manual:

Unless otherwise noted, a supernatural ability has an effective caster level equal to the creature's Hit Dice.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Is this true for PC supernatural abilities as well? (Such as a Druid's Wild Shape) \$\endgroup\$
    – Shalvenay
    Oct 14, 2015 at 11:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Shalvenay Could you please ask that as a separate question, and link to or reference this one? \$\endgroup\$ Oct 14, 2015 at 12:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't believe it is defined elsewhere, and since often caster level = HD = level would be a sensible result, I don't think there's a reason to doubt it. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 14, 2015 at 15:14

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .