This question already has an answer here:

Can a monk use a flurry of blows after committing the attack with heavy/two-handed weapons?

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.


marked as duplicate by Community Oct 15 '15 at 0:50

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.


D&D5 says what it means and means what it says.

  1. Take an Attack action
  2. Spend Ki point
  3. Make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

You can use the Attack action to hit people with an elephant if you want.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Assuming a Storm Giant monk! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 15 '15 at 0:15
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie ... or a dwarf elephant. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Oct 15 '15 at 0:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ 1. 2d6+str(GS), 2. 2d6+str, 3. 1d4+dex(US), 4. 1d4+dex.... dam. mod. right? \$\endgroup\$ – Anton Oct 15 '15 at 0:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ fighter 5/monk 2 \$\endgroup\$ – Anton Oct 15 '15 at 0:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Anton yes, but if your str is higher than your dex, you should use that modifier for the unarmed as well (1d4+str). Best not to clutter up the comments so as soon as you read this, we should delete them :) \$\endgroup\$ – daze413 Oct 15 '15 at 2:36

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.