1
\$\begingroup\$

Feeblemind says that one creature is affected.

Does that means casting that spell on an Ettin, a Hydra, or even the Tiamat would affect all the brains at once?

As a DM, I would argue that it should be per brain, otherwise what good would it bring to a monster to have multiple heads? But it seems the rules clearly say "a creature" as a whole.

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

Feeblemind reduces Intelligence, and even a creature with multiple brains has only a single Intelligence score. As such, it can only be affected once.

(Save yourself the headache of trying to figure out how to determine spells for a Two-headed Ettin Wizard where one head still has an Int of 16 and the other has an Int of 1 and just make it affect the whole thing)

This is in addition to the RAW argument that yes, an Ettin is a single creature.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Does that means casting that spell on an Ettin, a Hydra, or even the Tiamat would affect all the brains at once?

Going by the RAW, yes. It targets a creature, not a brain.

otherwise what good would it bring to a monster to have multiple heads?

Multiple bite attacks, being able to look in multiple directions at once, being able to have amusing and flavourful arguments with itself, …

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.