These books, as an alternative to the randomized treasure types and tables found in White Box through at least AD&D 1E, have a guaranteed amount of certain types of objects, and specific names for how many of each kind of object (a Trove is different than a Hoard is different that a Purse, etc.). I'm assuming that this treasure system is codified somewhere other than these two products; if it is, where is it codified and what is it called? If this specific system isn't codified anywhere else, that is also an acceptable answer.


1 Answer 1


The Lusus Naturae and the Teratic Tome are for the OSR game of weird fantasy Lamentations of the Flame Princess. Caution: That site has an illustration of a person stabbed in the eye as its logo. Folks looking over your shoulder at work might think you're visiting a site about something other than tabletop role-playing games.

This Teratic Tome review indicates that the treasure system, with its assortments, caches, and the like, was introduced in that text, providing a system lacking in Lamentations. This Lusus Naturae review indicates that text continues in the same (ahem) vein, making the Tome the original source for this system.

(I should note that I am a sucker for intuitive organization, and the Tome treasure types are, in increasing large amounts, assortment, cache, coinage, fortune, hoard, loot, lucre, purse, riches, and trove. Those are alphabetical, which is a good idea despite the names being a bit clumsy.)

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Minor point: The Teratic Tome is listed as being OSRIC compatible, not LotFP compatible (as if that matters much in regards to these games). I really appreciate the answer! \$\endgroup\$
    – user5834
    Oct 21, 2015 at 1:43

You must log in to answer this question.