13
\$\begingroup\$

If I'm within 5 feet of an enemy, is my character still able to cast Sacred Flame on him or do I get disadvantage due to it being a ranged spell and not a touched based one?

\$\endgroup\$
37
\$\begingroup\$

Aiming a ranged attack is more difficult when a foe is next to you. When you make a ranged attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other means, you have disadvantage on the attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you and who isn’t incapacitated.

Reading the text for Sacred Flame, it does not require an attack roll, just a saving throw from the target.

Flame-like radiance descends on a creature that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 radiant damage. The target gains no benefit from cover for this saving throw.

Since you are not making an attack roll, you do not have disadvantage.

\$\endgroup\$
-4
\$\begingroup\$

from the Basic Rules, p73:

Aiming a ranged attack is more difficult when a foe is next to you. When you make a ranged attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other means, you have disadvantage on the attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you and who isn’t incapacitated.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This answer would apply well to Guiding Bolt, which requires an attack roll. For a spell that doesn't have the character of "ranged attack" which is what this paragraph addresses, it doesn't. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 23 '15 at 12:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.