4
\$\begingroup\$

I play a fighter who has the feat Quick Draw. After making the Str check to set a bear trap, there's no limit to the length of time the bear trap remains set. Dropping an item is a free action. Could my fighter dump, like, a dozen already-set bear traps from his inventory in one round using only a free action for each bear trap?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm super curious as to how the fighter is carrying around 12 primed bear traps but hasn't managed to accidentally set them off when shoving them into his pack. \$\endgroup\$
    – Cthos
    Oct 23, 2015 at 22:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Cthos He doesn't; all he needs to do is make a successful strength check in between quick drawing the trap and dropping it \$\endgroup\$
    – Areadbhair
    Oct 31, 2015 at 3:41

2 Answers 2

10
\$\begingroup\$

No

Much to sorrow of those aspiring to cartoon coyotehood, the feat Quick Draw is disappointingly specific:

You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. You can draw a hidden weapon (see the Sleight of Hand skill) as a move action.

A character who has selected this feat may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow).

Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat.

Assuming a house rule hasn't added to Weapons the bear trap, it typically takes a move action that provokes an attack of opportunity to retrieve a stored item such as a bear trap, which usually limits a creature to dropping, during its turn, any number bear traps held in hand plus two.

To overcome this unfortunate limitation on the feat Quick Draw, take the third-party feat Organized Inventory.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Possibly, but you should ask your DM.

Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn. Free actions rarely incur attacks of opportunity. Some common free actions are described below.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Free-Actions

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .