When you are medium, have a reach weapon, and are adjacent to a large creature, are you allowed to make an attack on the parts of the creature that are further away?


2 Answers 2


Strict RAW would say no:

Reach: You use a reach weapon to strike opponents 10 feet away, but you can't use it against an adjacent foe. (source; emphasis mine)

Since the large creature is adjacent, a reach weapon can't be used against it.

  • \$\begingroup\$ This was the same logic I used when I told the player no. Im glad you had a rule to back me up, thank you. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Commented Oct 25, 2015 at 14:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ while i agree with what the rules say, it seems like this is a one sided way of looking at things. I would say that a large creature standing next to the character can be both adjacent and 10'away at the same time, as 'hey I Can Chan' says \$\endgroup\$
    – martijn
    Commented Oct 25, 2015 at 20:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ My kneejerk reaction is not this answer, but actually considering it realistically, I can see how this also makes real sense, not just rules sense. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 26, 2015 at 12:30

If parts of the creature is 10' away, it would make sense that You could attack that area if there is nothing blocking your weapon. So I would say yes

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This was my thinking, too. I read the quotation in the answer from @minnmass and thought But parts of my opponent are both 10 ft. away and adjacent! I know that thinking's erroneous (formal logic probably somehow proving it), but, if it isn't, my temptation would be to have the attacked Large creature's 10-ft.-away square be considered affected by cover... gained from the creature itself. (This would also make impossible attacks of opportunity against that creature's square using this technique.) \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 25, 2015 at 16:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ The quote is correct but sometimes the rules don't always fully cover a situation. Like you said the creature is both adjacent and 10' away. So unless it can push the reach weapon away with an appendage that is within that 10' it would seem that an attack is possible. Cover seems a good way to mitigate the threat. \$\endgroup\$
    – martijn
    Commented Oct 25, 2015 at 20:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .