So, an unfortunate event occured in our game recently. A mage with a whole 1 in both Logic and Intuition approuched a dual nature being. She was close enough, was materialized, and called the being out (not knowing what it was, really). The being turned around and attacked her.
So, here's the series of events. If something wasn't possible, please let me know in the future.
The creature was within range and, because it exists on both the Material and Astral at the same time, made an attack at the materialized mage. Since it's just using it's normal melee attack, the GM rolled that and got a lot of hits.
The mage could only use Logic + Intuition to 'soak' the damage. She didn't get that many.
The mage took 10 boxes of damage. Since the creature didn't really specify that it was trying to stun the target, I assume this translates to physical damage on the mage.
The mage had already taken some physical before, so when this new physical came through, it did enough to overflow their physical track and their overflow boxes. Mage died.
Did we do something wrong in the rules? Was there something else the mage could have done to dodge or soak the damage? Is this how astral combat works from the material plane? Could the duel nature being even MAKE an attack into the astral if they didn't have Astral Combat (this is a fuzzy area for me)? I know that a duel nature creature can get hit by astral creatures in the Astral (one of the problems about being duel nature). The more you can quote book pages for me, the better. Thanks!