5
\$\begingroup\$

Example: Fighter is engaged in melee combat with enemy. Warlock uses eldrich blast with "Repelling Blast" invocation. The enemy is pushed 10 ft. away. Is that creature no longer engaged in combat with the fighter? Would this free movement provoke an attack of opportunity?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Rubiksmoose dnd-5e Apr 21 '18 at 17:54

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

24
\$\begingroup\$

No, only a creature's own movement can provoke opportunity attacks (Player's Basic Rules, p. 74):

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Since Repelling Blast is you pushing them and doesn't use their own (re)action or movement, it doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Dissonant Whispers would produce the desired effect. \$\endgroup\$ – Drunk Cynic Oct 31 '15 at 1:05

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.