I'm playing a ranger in my current campaign and I'm confused about one thing in the foe slayer description. It says that the extra to hit or damage bonus from my Wisdom modifier can be designated before or after the roll but before effects are applied.
My question relates to the phrase 'before effects are applied'. Does that mean before I know if it's a hit or miss? If so, why designate before or after the roll?
My DM ruled that I have to designate it before I know if it's a hit or miss and obviously what the DM says goes and I'm not going to fight him on it. I just want to know how other people interpret it because honestly, the wording is a bit more obscure than other hard and fast rules.