5
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a ranger in my current campaign and I'm confused about one thing in the foe slayer description. It says that the extra to hit or damage bonus from my Wisdom modifier can be designated before or after the roll but before effects are applied.

My question relates to the phrase 'before effects are applied'. Does that mean before I know if it's a hit or miss? If so, why designate before or after the roll?

My DM ruled that I have to designate it before I know if it's a hit or miss and obviously what the DM says goes and I'm not going to fight him on it. I just want to know how other people interpret it because honestly, the wording is a bit more obscure than other hard and fast rules.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for the edits Wibbs! The post desperately needed it. Typing correctly on my phone is so difficult! \$\endgroup\$ – Faxlier Nov 1 '15 at 21:22
7
\$\begingroup\$

Your DM has the right of it. The way it is worded is designed to make it clear that the player can choose when to apply the benefit. The only limitation is that the player must make the decision to apply the modifier before the DM tells you if it would be a hit/miss or the effect of the damage dealt.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for your answer! It makes sense. I'm just going to have to talk with him about how quickly he announces hits or misses. It becomes such an automatic thing when DMing to try to keep the battle rolling that I don't think he realizes maybe I wanted to use my Wisdom modifier there. \$\endgroup\$ – Faxlier Nov 2 '15 at 2:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Or, you could help the DM out by announcing that you have that special feature before making the roll. This way, the DM knows to allow you some time to decide after the roll, and you also help out by taking some of the task of having to remember PC capabilities from the DM. ;) \$\endgroup\$ – Pitzy Nov 2 '15 at 6:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I think you're over estimating the size of our group. We have 3 pcs including me. Announcing before every time I roll would be a bit much. Still in a large group where it could be 15 minutes before your next turn in combat I could see where it would be needed. Nah our communication is pretty good I'm not worried. \$\endgroup\$ – Faxlier Nov 3 '15 at 17:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.