Can the familiar options from the Pact of the Chain warlock (quasit, imp, sprite, pseudodragon) attune with a ring of spell storing?

If so, can I cast a spell requiring concentration into the ring and then have the familiar maintain concentration on the spell?


The section on attunement is quite long, so I won't reproduce it here, but it refers exclusively to a "creature". It doesn't say anything about a player, a player character, a humanoid, or anything else that would exclude familiars from being able to attune to magic items.

The ring of spell storing itself likewise has no restriction beyond requiring attunement, so yes, a familiar can attune to it. I feel compelled to point out that some DMs might not allow a pseudodragon to use a ring because it doesn't have fingers, though.

As for concentration, the DMG says this about items that cast spells (on page 141):

The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.

So if you cast a spell into the ring that requires concentration, when your familiar uses the ring to cast it, your familiar will have to maintain concentration, not you.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Toe-on-a-forelimb might be close enough to a finger for some DMs (I'd be inclined to allow it) \$\endgroup\$
    – Adeptus
    Nov 6 '15 at 4:52
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus So would I! I just figured I'd better have the disclaimer just in case. Hence "some DMs" and "might not allow". \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Nov 6 '15 at 4:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.