The spell banishment says in part

If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.

Does the lung or stomach of a gargantuan monster (e.g., dragon turtle) count as an unoccupied space for the purpose of using banishment to transport myself into it?



Any space that a monster is in, is occupied (that's definitional, the monster occupies it's own space). Even if you could normally move through the monster's space unencumbered, for the purposes of counting occupied space, it must actually be a clear space, not one occupied by a creature.

  • \$\begingroup\$ At this point, wouldn't he be "swallowed" by the creature? \$\endgroup\$ – KeineMaster Nov 4 '15 at 20:02
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ No, because you can't use the power as intended. The space within the monster's gut isn't unoccupied, it's occupied. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Nov 4 '15 at 20:03

A space is considered occupied if a creature is currently inhabiting it -- so by RAW, no. However, the universe probably wouldn't make such a distinction -- ask your DM.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.