8
\$\begingroup\$

Warlocks get access to the following Eldritch Invocation at 5th level:

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

If the warlock is in a dim-light/dark area (either because it's an area inside without lights or it's outside at night) and becomes invisible, and the area later becomes lit (the warlock waits until daytime, or a character nearby lights a lantern), does the warlock remain completely invisible?

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you remain invisible.

The text states:

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

We can break it up to determine how it works.

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible

This is the only condition that must be met for you to become invisible. If you are in dim light or darkness, and you can take an action, you can become invisible full stop.

until you move or take an action or a reaction.

These are the only conditions that cause you to lose invisibility. The invisibility ends when you either move, take an action, or take a reaction. Transitioning from dim light/darkness to full light is not moving, taking an action, or a reaction, so the invisibility remains.

If you're worried about this being overpowered, remember that in 5E invisibility is not that useful by itself. It doesn't actually make you any stealthier or harder to detect than normal. The only thing it does is give people disadvantage against you (which is powerful no doubt), and it allows you to hide in plain sight. However, hiding is an action, which according to the text you quoted removes the invisibility. Since your Warlock can't hide without losing his invisibility, he will still be detectable by everyone around him. All this lets your Warlock do is get disadvantage on attacks against him as long as he doesn't move or take actions/reactions.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Wouldn't first hiding and than becoming one with shadow work though? \$\endgroup\$ – Nox Nov 6 '15 at 10:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, but being invisible when you're already hidden confers no benefit. Invisibility only does one thing, and that is it makes it easier for you to try to hide from people. If you're already hidden then becoming invisible doesn't do anything, because you've already done the thing it's trying to help you do. I really wish Wizards would have called invisibility something else, because mechanically it is not even remotely close to real-world invisibility. \$\endgroup\$ – Percival Nov 6 '15 at 13:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "An invisible creature is impossible to see without the aid of magic or a special sense." Not sure where you're coming from. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Apr 8 '16 at 17:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ While the guards are around the corner, you are heavily obscured, and so can attempt to hide (remain silent). While hidden (still heavily obscured and silent) you become invisible, which means you remain heavily obscured, which maintains your being hidden. Yes, you have to hide, but you can do it before becoming invisible as long as you are never not heavily obscured. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Apr 8 '16 at 21:20
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Percival: The thing is that in general, you stop being hidden as soon as there's nothing obscuring you from the people looking. So if you're hidden but not invisible, you're undetectable - right up until they round the corner and you have nothing to hide behind. Invisibility lets you be/remain hidden even when there's nothing between you and the enemy. As for this specific invocation, I don't know how that bit would be applied; I think your answer is RAW but I don't know about RAI (rules as intended). \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 29 '18 at 2:40
0
\$\begingroup\$

from a logical thinking perspective I would say lighting a candle might not be enough as then there would still be shadows. but if it's becomes day light all shadows get a lot softer or non-existing thus would mean there are no shadows to be invisible in.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Interesting idea, but in 5E invisibility is a very clearly defined concept with concrete mechanics. Light doesn't have anything to do with it, so RAW this doesn't apply. Obviously as a DM you can overrule that if you wish. \$\endgroup\$ – Percival Nov 5 '15 at 18:06
0
\$\begingroup\$

I've DMed a character who uses this ability and ran it RAW. Not being able to move or act pretty much restricts him to using it to be spooky.

If a player tries to constantly ambush people they would not be getting a massive advantage since they would instantly be visible.

If it ends because someone walks past with a torch it makes the ability practically useless.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

I will overrule the RAW and say "You will lose invisibility!"

I do agree with Percival's answer; as we all know, we generally adopt the mechanics verbatim. But if I'm DMing this, I will overrule that and say that the Warlock will lose invisibility. Why?

Well, because the specific Eldritch Invocation is named One with Shadows. If there is a light source and he stays in a specific area illuminated by the light (no more shadows), then there are no more shadows to be one with. Clearly this is not same as the invisibility spell, and should be treated differently.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.