I am not sure if I understand the rules correctly how Magick actually works (Edit: in the 2nd Edition):
- Tell what you want to do
- Check if you know how to do this
- Roll as much dice as you wish with the max. number of your current arete
- Difficulty is the highest sphere you actually use, i.e. if you have matter 4 but only want to detect an element you roll against 1 (+3, +4 or +5 depending on the vulgarism of the effect)
- Against the other WoD rules you do not fail when you roll more 1s than successes, but you do fail in the moment when you roll a single 1?
This seems not to be stated explicitly in the rules (at least in the German edition) but using all of your arete would not be risky if a single 1 would not result in a failure. Am I right?