6
\$\begingroup\$

If I were to set myself up to brace for a charge with a Longspear, do I get both my readied attack for double damage when they move into reach and my attack of opportunity for normal damage (or would it be double still because they're still charging?) for when they move through my threatened area, assuming they don't also have a reach weapon?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Interesting, for sure you would only get one AoO, no matter how many squares you threaten and your opponent crosses; but I have no idea whether you get the readied action on top or not... \$\endgroup\$ – Matthieu M. Nov 10 '15 at 8:52
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The actions happen in order, first the enemy enters a square that you threaten, triggering your readied action (assuming that you specified the 'charges me' (and thus enters my threatened area) as the trigger) for double damage (as this attack uses the spear's special property).

SRD text for a spear (emphasis mine):

If you use a ready action to set a spear against a charge, you deal double damage on a successful hit against a charging character.

The next thing your opponent does is attempt to leave your threatened area, triggering an attack of opportunity as per the rules of AoO. However, this attack will deal regular damage as this attack is not performed because of a readied action.

Key argument:

Specifying the 'use a ready action' in the spear's property line implies that it only applies to the attack that is triggered by that ready action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you think this would hold with the Steadfast Boots (MIC)? These boots have the property than any two-handed weapon held is considered readied against a charge (even if not dealing piercing damages). \$\endgroup\$ – Matthieu M. Nov 10 '15 at 9:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The boots would make the AoO also deal double damage. However, this is not what the OP was asking. \$\endgroup\$ – Bas Jansen Nov 10 '15 at 9:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ One thing, though: Does the spear double its damage because it consumed a ready action, or because it was set against a charge? ^_^ \$\endgroup\$ – Pitzy Nov 10 '15 at 10:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @BasJansen I don't think boots work the way you say. They give you free attack against any creature that charges you. And this attack is dealt as if it was an attack from ready (i.e. double damage on that particular free attack). \$\endgroup\$ – annoying imp Nov 10 '15 at 14:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @annoyingimp I have to ask on what you base that. The text reads to me as if the damage is doubled when making an attack on a charging opponent (but nothing indicating a free attack). \$\endgroup\$ – Bas Jansen Nov 10 '15 at 15:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.