The benefit of the feat Magical Training says

You can cast three 0-level arcane spells per day as either a sorcerer or wizard (your choice, so long as you have a score of at least 10 in the ability that controls the spellcasting for that class). You must make this decision when you first take the feat. Thereafter, you... are treated as a sorcerer or wizard of your arcane spellcaster level (minimum 1st) for the purpose of determining level-based variables of the spells you cast.

If you choose to cast spells as a sorcerer [y]ou know two 0-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer/wizard list.

If you choose to cast spells as a wizard, [y]ou have a spellbook with three 0-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer/wizard list. You prepare your spells exactly as a wizard does. (Player’s Guide to Faerûn 41)

Does a creature that takes this feat either gain the Sor/Wiz spell list or gain a spell list limited to those spells he knows or something else? Further, can a creature that picks to cast like a wizard prepare and cast additional 0-level sorcerer/wizard spells that the creature adds to that spellbook or is such a creature (if he picks no other options for wizard-like spellcasting) stuck with a 100-page book containing 3 pages of spells and 97 pages of doodles of him in wizard hat or whatever?

(Gaining the Sor/Wiz spell list—which, for example, enables the use of Sor/Wiz wands—by taking a lone feat can be a fairly big deal at low levels when making a DC 20 Use Magic Device skill check is still a challenge.)

  • \$\begingroup\$ Could you cite your specific source for needs to be on the caster's spell list? It sounds like you're mixing together restrictions on what you can learn and what you can cast. \$\endgroup\$
    – fectin
    Nov 12, 2015 at 12:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Fectin I adjusted the question. The rules for spell lists are spread out and vague enough that an answer may address that specifically instead. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 12, 2015 at 13:10

1 Answer 1


I'd say that the feat grants a Magical Training spell list, not a Sor/Wiz spell list.

When you take the feat, you get to pick 2-3 spells from the Sor/Wiz spell list, and those spells make up your spell list. You need to be an actual Sor/Wiz to gain their spell list.

Likewise, you're only considered a Sor/Wiz with regard to those selected spells, and for nothing else. So I'd say that you don't get to use items that require Sor/Wiz as the classes, but you still pass as an Arcane Spellcaster because those selected spells are arcane.

This is why the feat can pass the Dweomerkeeper's requirement (arcane spellcasting), but not exactly for the wands that you mentioned.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Presumably, you could still freely use wands of the three spells you picked though \$\endgroup\$
    – fectin
    Nov 12, 2015 at 14:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ @fectin : Yes, I think so, too. ^_^ \$\endgroup\$
    – Pitzy
    Nov 13, 2015 at 0:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .