7
\$\begingroup\$

Can a monk use mage armor without losing their wisdom bonus to AC (in 3.5e)?

More generally, can a divine caster wearing a monk's belt use greater luminous armor without losing their wisdom bonus to AC? (see this question)

Every group I've been in has allowed this (and forums seem to agree), but I want to make sure this is officially legal and not just a house rule.

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Mage armor (as well as Luminous Armor and it's Greater sibling) aren't armor, they are spells. When they effect you, they are now magic effects. Specifically, they are a force field or an aura of light that gives you some bonuses. They might look like armor, but they aren't.

Since they aren't armor, they won't affect the Monk's AC bonus class ability (of the effect given by a monk's belt that imitates it).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.