An ex-druid 1 / chameleon (Races of Destiny) wants to take levels in blighter (Complete Divine). Can he?
\$\begingroup\$ Is there a reason the chameleon wants to take levels in blighter specifically, or is this more of a theoretical question because you're actually, like, wondering how the chameleon's divine focus works or something? (I ask because blighters tend not to live very long.) \$\endgroup\$– Hey I Can ChanNov 23, 2015 at 8:32
\$\begingroup\$ @Hey I Can Chan: Yes, the player really likes blighter for role playing: 'kill an entire field' makes causing a famine to overthrow a king easier. Yes there are easier ways, but player wants it. Pointed out diminish plants and using summoned fire elemental too. \$\endgroup\$– CitarianNov 23, 2015 at 8:50
A level 1 ex-druid with the prestige class chameleon (Races of Destiny 111-7) that once used the extraordinary ability aptitude focus to gain divine focus to cast druid spells and that has Wisdom 16 (if a 3rd-level chameleon) or Wisdom 13 (if a 4th-level chameleon) so that it can meet the blighter prerequisite of being able to cast 3rd-level druid spells could possibly take levels in blighter (Complete Divine 23-6).
The blighter's special requirement says, "The character must be an ex-druid previously capable of casting 3rd-level druid spells" (CD 23), and those statements aren't independent. Thus the DM may require the chameleon to be, instead of a 1st-level ex-druid, a 5th-level ex-druid, the minimum druid level for casting 3rd-level druid spells.
Also, the prestige class chameleon on Class Features says, "You can’t use any abilities gained from your aptitude focus… to qualify for a… prestige class" (Races of Destiny 112). So the player must make the argument that—and here I suggest first buying pizza if not good booze—using the absence of something to meet the prestige class's requirement is different from using the thing itself to meet the prestige class's requirement. I can't imagine such an argument working in most circles without the booze; stay safe and good luck.
(When composing this answer initially, I—like, I'm sure, many others—overlooked that chameleon Class Features text; thanks to this answer for pointing it out.)
\$\begingroup\$ "Seriously, why would you want to play this?" - for those of us out of the loop, could you clarify what you mean by 'this'? Is 'this' a character that goes from druid to blighter? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 7:19
1\$\begingroup\$ @doppelgreener Really, just blighter. The blighter throws away levels in the game's most powerful class to (eventually) kill a 200-ft. radius of thriving plant life per day to cast a far weaker selection of spells. Blighters paint giant Kill Me signs on their backs by existing. But perhaps I shouldn't judge. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 8:23
1\$\begingroup\$ An advisory of "this might be a really terrible idea" when relevant is never totally uncalled for and will probably be appreciated by at least some readers. If it's concerning to you, I suggest mentioning why at the end. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 8:27
\$\begingroup\$ @doppelgreener That's fair. I'll bounce it back to querent. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 8:30
\$\begingroup\$ Aren't blighters one of the three classes on the accelerated spell level track though? I thought it was them, Ur-Priests, and Beholder Mages. \$\endgroup\$– fectinNov 24, 2015 at 1:34
Races of Destiny, page 112:
You can't use any abilities gained from your aptitude focus, ability boon, or mimic class feature abilities to qualify for a feat, prestige class, or other option.
Were it not for this frequently-overlooked bit of text, the other answers would be correct. Alas...
\$\begingroup\$ I realize this question is rather old, but I stumbled upon it searching for another one, and clearly we can't let an incorrect answer stand. \$\endgroup\$– A_S00Sep 30, 2016 at 3:29
Yes. Any race or class that can meet the requirements1 would work.
With Chameleon, specifically, you would require:
Divine Focus: You gain the ability to prepare and cast divine spells, which may be chosen from the spell list of any divine spell-casting class.
And of course, have the Chameleon level required to cast 3rd level spells. Could the Chameleon cast 3rd level druid spells? Yes, they can.
- Base Attack Bonus: +4
- Alignment: Any nongood
- Special: The character must be an ex-druid previously capable of casting 3rd-level druid spells, Profession skill must be herbalist.
1\$\begingroup\$ OP specified that he only ever had 1 level of druid, so the "3rd-level druid spells" part of the third requirement isn't obviously met. If it's met in a non-obvious way, please call that out. Otherwise, the answer should be "no". \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 6:18
\$\begingroup\$ @MatthewNajmon Chameleons can cast divine spells of any list. \$\endgroup\$– RuutNov 23, 2015 at 6:24
\$\begingroup\$ Would a Clr5/exDrd1 qualify, then, since the Cleric also has some lvl3 spells that are also on the druid list? By RAW, it is entirely unclear that being drawn from the druid's list automatically makes those spells count as "druid spells" for purposes of the prerequisite. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 23, 2015 at 6:59
1\$\begingroup\$ @MatthewNajmon No, because Cleric's don't have access to the Druid Spell List, regardless if they share spells. \$\endgroup\$– RuutNov 23, 2015 at 7:04