Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
7 years, 6 months ago
The rules on scrolls state:
A spell on a scroll can be used only once. The writing vanishes from the scroll when the spell is activated.
If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully.
If the caster level check fails but without Mishap, is the spell "activated" or not? Is the scroll destroyed if you fail?
Dec 3, 2015 at 5:06
647 6 6 silver badges 17 17 bronze badges
The FAQ at the bottom of the SRD's page for
scrolls answers exactly this question:
If I fail my caster level check to activate a scroll, but don't have a
mishap, is the scroll used up?
No. In the Activation section, in the first paragraph after the bullet
points, add the following sentence:
"If the caster level check fails
but no mishap occurs, the scroll is not expended."
Dec 3, 2015 at 5:37
1,733 2 2 gold badges 13 13 silver badges 25 25 bronze badges
log in to answer this question.
Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only