9
\$\begingroup\$

The spell Compulsion says

Creatures of your choice that you can see within range and that can hear you must make a Wisdom saving throw. <...> On a failed save, a target is affected by this spell

Does this mean that the spell can affect as many creatures as the caster desires, provided that they are within range and the caster can see them, and the targets can hear the caster?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

Correct, you can target as many creatures as satisfy the conditions. For reference, the relevant rules on spell targets are:

A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell’s magic. A spell’s description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect (described below).

The spell's description tells us that targets are

Creatures of your choice that you can see within range and that can hear you [...]

The range of Compulsion is 30 feet, so you can target as many creatures as there are within 30 feet of you, provided that you can see them and they can hear you.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks, just seemed weird that it didn't give a maximum number or anything. \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Dec 9 '15 at 3:46
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleVermont Well, while "creatures within 30 feet" has a theoretical maximum of over 1000 (assuming my maths is correct), it's not that often that you'll have more than a few creatures that close to you. That said, if you're in the middle of a crowd there are some seriously fun use cases for this... \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Dec 9 '15 at 3:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ 1,000? I don't think the wizard would have such good eye sight... and that's if all creatures are flying and all within 5 ft. of each others. I don't think that happens too often, even in a plane. \$\endgroup\$ – Alexis Wilke Dec 9 '15 at 12:04
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AlexisWilke ...that's kind of my point. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Dec 9 '15 at 12:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.