10
\$\begingroup\$

The reserve feat Fiery Burst says:

As long as you have a fire spell of 2nd level or higher available to cast, you can spend a standard action to...

The Summon Monster I spell (and, by extension, all summon monster spells) say:

When you use a summoning spell to summon an air, chaotic, earth, evil, fire, good, lawful, or water creature, it is a spell of that type.

If I have Summon Monster V prepared, I technically could use it to summon 1d4+1 small fire elementals (off the Summon Monster III list). Does this mean I have a fifth-level fire spell "available to cast", and thus I can use the fiery burst feat with a spell level of 5?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

While it doesn't really matter if the spell with the [Fire] descriptor comes from Evocation or Conjuration school, I'm afraid that Summon Monster can't be used to power Fiery Burst:

Only actual spells or spell slots allow the character to use the primary benefit of a reserve feat. Spell-like abilities, supernatural abilities, and extraordinary abilities—even if they mimic or duplicate an appropriate spell—do not qualify. Spells that do not have a descriptor until cast (such as the summon monster spells) can't be used to gain the primary benefit of a reserve feat.

If you had a summoning spell that can summon ONLY fire-typed creatures (and had the [Fire] descriptor right from the box), it would work, but Summon Monster V won't.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .