10
\$\begingroup\$

The reserve feat Fiery Burst says:

As long as you have a fire spell of 2nd level or higher available to cast, you can spend a standard action to...

The Summon Monster I spell (and, by extension, all summon monster spells) say:

When you use a summoning spell to summon an air, chaotic, earth, evil, fire, good, lawful, or water creature, it is a spell of that type.

If I have Summon Monster V prepared, I technically could use it to summon 1d4+1 small fire elementals (off the Summon Monster III list). Does this mean I have a fifth-level fire spell "available to cast", and thus I can use the fiery burst feat with a spell level of 5?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

While it doesn't really matter if the spell with the [Fire] descriptor comes from Evocation or Conjuration school, I'm afraid that Summon Monster can't be used to power Fiery Burst:

Only actual spells or spell slots allow the character to use the primary benefit of a reserve feat. Spell-like abilities, supernatural abilities, and extraordinary abilities—even if they mimic or duplicate an appropriate spell—do not qualify. Spells that do not have a descriptor until cast (such as the summon monster spells) can't be used to gain the primary benefit of a reserve feat.

If you had a summoning spell that can summon ONLY fire-typed creatures (and had the [Fire] descriptor right from the box), it would work, but Summon Monster V won't.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.