5
\$\begingroup\$

The Hiruma Slayers alternate path (from The Book of Earth) has the following line in it's technique:

You suffer no penalties for using a masakari in your off-hand (although you still suffer normal penalties for wielding two weapons).

The L5R 4th Edition Core rulebook has the following text about dual wielding:

A character’s handedness is determined by the player. A character attempting to make an attack with a weapon in his off-hand suffers a penalty of -5 to the roll if it is a small weapon, -10 if it is medium, and -15 if it is large. Additionally, attacks made with the character’s dominant hand suffer a penalty of -5 to attacks as long as a secondary weapon is held in the off hand. However, a character wielding two weapons is more difficult to hit due to the larger area covered. As a result, characters wielding two weapons add their Insight Rank to their Armor TN.

So what does this mean for the Hiruma Slayer? Does he:

  1. Have a -5 to his attacks with his primary hand, and no penalty for attacks with his off-hand?
  2. Have no penalty to his attacks with his primary hand, and a -15 to attacks with his off-hand?
  3. Have a -5 to his attacks, regardless of which hand he's using?
\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Have a -5 to his attacks with his primary hand, and no penalty for attacks with his off-hand

The Masakari is a medium weapon. This means that if we dual wield with it in our offhand, the character suffers a -5 penalty for his main hand and -10 penalty for his offhand. If the character looses / drops the Masakari, all penalties are removed (Off-hand weapons & Multiple Attacks p141).

The alternate path of the Hiruma Slayers cancels out the offhand penalty. This would result in the character only suffering a -5 penalty for the main hand as long as he's holding the Masakari.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ whoops. I thought it was a large weapon. Great catch on that! Seems like eliminating the off-hand penalty only would just make the player make all of his attacks with his off-hand instead of his primary hand, which strikes me as strange... \$\endgroup\$ – Mickle Dec 14 '15 at 12:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ But the RAI is clearly meant to enhance the savage dual-wielding berserker feeling. By only attacking with the offhand, the player is trying to circumvent that with a very strict RAW interpretation. In that case he's no longer dual-wielding, but strictly attacking with his offhand. Enough cause to reinstate the -10 penalty. \$\endgroup\$ – Ahriman Dec 14 '15 at 12:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.