28
\$\begingroup\$

RAW, I don't see why you can't blind something with Truesight, but I feel like it shouldn't be possible. (Maybe vestiges of previous editions?) I wonder whether I've overlooked some basic rule.

\$\endgroup\$
30
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can blind something with Truesight.

The only thing Truesight does in this case is magnify the ability that was lost to blindness:

Truesight enhances one's ability to see: through magical darkness, invisibility, illusions, shapechanges, and into the Ethereal (PHB p.185).

But the blindness condition now says "you can't see. The sight through illusions, darkness, &c. which you so enjoyed just a moment ago, you don't have anymore (PHB p.290, paraphrased)."


In your specific example of the Demilich, note that blindness is not one of the (many) condition immunities listed in its stat block (MM p.48).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, I wasn't sure if it wasn't listed because of True sight (and there was a pertinent background ruling), or because it could actually be blinded. \$\endgroup\$ – Khashir Dec 14 '15 at 19:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.