13
\$\begingroup\$

I'm pretty new to the game and can't find this question answered anywhere. I'm looking at the feat sharpshooter and I saw that you can take a -5 to the attack roll for a +10 damage. I'm curious if you can still crit if you roll a natural 20 after you've chosen to take the -5 hit to the attack roll.

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

40
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if you roll a natural 20, it will be a critical hit despite your -5 penalty.

If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. This is called a critical hit, which is explained later in this chapter.

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

When you roll a 20 on an attack, it is always considered a critical and successful hit.

So yes, whatever the penalty you might have, it works.

Actually, if you do 15 + 5, it is not a critical hit. It has to be a natural 20. (Although there are some class abilities that allow a natural 19 to be a critical hit as well, such as the Champion Fighter Archetypes, PHB p. 72, it's still the natural roll that matters.)

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Miniman Perhaps the last fragment of the sentence. I know that certain weapons have increased crit ranges. I'm almost certain that sneak attacks don't affect crit range, though. \$\endgroup\$
    – nukeforum
    Commented Dec 16, 2015 at 13:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Miniman I am! Thank you! I totally forgot that they removed crit range because they also removed threat/confirm! \$\endgroup\$
    – nukeforum
    Commented Dec 16, 2015 at 14:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast, sorry, yes indeed,,, I was mixing up critical hit and advantage on the Rogue. I added a reference with the page number. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 16, 2015 at 22:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AlexisWilke Improved the answer, previous comment removed. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 16, 2015 at 22:55

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .