16
\$\begingroup\$

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to the Fighter for the Fighter to use in combat?

The rules say the pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from the summoner for more than 1 minute. During this time can the Fighter use it?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ This is also a great idea when fighting enemies with resistance to non-magical weapons if your fighter friend doesn't have one yet. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Dec 18 '15 at 15:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DerekStucki That comment might be worth appending to your answer. Up to you. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast 22 hours ago
21
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, other characters can wield it (within limits)

You cited the only relevant rule in your question. The warlock would have to either be within 5 feet of the weapon every minute, or resummon it frequently, but the passage quoted clearly allows the weapon to be away from the warlock for plenty of time to be useful in the hands of someone else.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To add, 1 minute equals 10 turns of melee. \$\endgroup\$ – Escoce Dec 18 '15 at 16:34
  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ @Escoce I think the exact wording would be "1 minute equals to 10 rounds of melee", as each creature has a turn in said rounds. \$\endgroup\$ – Meta4ic Dec 18 '15 at 20:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ ...now I find myself thinking about how to cheese that. Is there any way to have the resulting weapon benefit further from invocations? \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Apr 27 '17 at 19:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.