Does the Wall of Force spell in 5e block teleportation? This does not seem to be addressed in the 5e spell description.


2 Answers 2


No, Wall of Force does not block teleportation. The relevant parts of the spell description are:

Nothing can physically pass through the wall.

This is pretty unambiguous, but teleporting isn't "physically passing" through the wall, so that's fine.

The wall also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel through the wall.

This is, admittedly, slightly less clear. However, there is nothing in the description of Teleport that suggests that it involves the Ethereal Plane. In fact, it doesn't really say anything about how it works:

This spell instantly transports you [...] to a destination you select.

The destination you choose must be known to you, and it must be on the same plane of existence as you.

That's all we know. However, there is much more compelling evidence in the description of Forcecage:

If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to leave the cage, it must first make a Charisma saving throw. On a success, the creature can use that magic to exit the cage. On a failure, the creature can't exit the cage and wastes the use of the spell or effect. The cage also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel.

This is a pretty clear distinction between teleportation and ethereal travel (one is difficult, the other is actually impossible). So they are different, and the barrier to ethereal travel in Wall of Force does not apply to teleportation.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I guess you could say, being in a box and trying to teleport would mean you absolutely have to go through the box, but a wall cant really stop you from going in any direction the wall doesn't extend to, you know what I mean? \$\endgroup\$
    – Javelin
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 17:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Javelin: Description for the Wall Of Force: “You can form it into a hemispherical dome or sphere” \$\endgroup\$
    – Michael
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 17:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Michael Ah, that's important. Breaks my whole line of thought there, and I don't want to cheese it with "it's magic". Darn! \$\endgroup\$
    – Javelin
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 17:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ thanks. I feel teleport works too. older definitions of WoF talk to teleport and dem door. I don't know why 5E dropped it from the definition. \$\endgroup\$
    – mike
    Commented Dec 28, 2015 at 0:22

To add to Miniman's answer, it should be noted that any spell which targets a point (such as misty step (depending on your interpretation of 'target')) will be blocked by a wall of force. Specifically:

To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.

Emphasis mine. See other questions regarding the (debated) nature of cover.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You may wish to write your own answer to this question if you believe misty step requires a clear path \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 27, 2021 at 17:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Misty step's only requirement for designation is for the spot to be unoccupied and seeable. Wall of force by itself does nothing to hinder either condition. That's why you can misty step through windows. \$\endgroup\$
    – Clarus_Nox
    Commented Sep 15, 2021 at 4:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I would note that it's unclear whether the teleportation target for misty step is a 'target'—and that if it isn't, then you're indeed right. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fie
    Commented Sep 15, 2021 at 13:32
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Clarus_Nox: But that's normal for most spells, and most spells can't be cast through total cover, including windows. Can spells be cast through a Wall of Force? quotes a relevant Crawford tweet, that Wall of Force blocks spells in general by being total cover. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 21, 2022 at 7:23

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .