6
\$\begingroup\$

Just curious if ranged attacks gain combat advantage the same way melee attacks would from circumstances that would normally grant. In example, from status effects such as dazed or restrained. I couldn't find a clarification except for prone targets. Thanks!

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, Combat Advantage works with ranged attacks.

Combat Advantage doesn't care about ranged or melee or bursts or whatever else. Any kind of attack will give you the +2 attack bonus versus that target, as long as you can see them. No part of the CA rules are specified as melee-only.

Conditions such as Blinded, Dazed and Restrained say "the creature grants combat advantage" (in Rules Compendium p229 onwards; the PHB instead says "you grant combat advantage"). That's to everyone; there's no "to melee attackers" phrase.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.