3
\$\begingroup\$

For example, the shield mastery feat gives the option to shove an adjacent creature 5ft as a bonus action. Could you make an Opportunity Attack on the creature because it leaves your threat range without using the disengage action?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Rubiksmoose dnd-5e Apr 21 '18 at 17:55

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

29
\$\begingroup\$

No.

From page 74 of the Basic Rules (also PHB p.195, or this SRD site):

Opportunity Attacks

[...] You can avoid provoking an opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy.

If a creature is moved out of the threatened area (passive), rather than actively move (using its own action, movement or reaction), it does not provoke an Opportunity Attack.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ +1 and The real world analog to this is, if you leave an active fight without focusing on the fight you are basically leaving yourself open. The disengage action is a fight action, where you leave the fight while paying full attention to what's going on. Being shoved is a sudden thing, and usually no one will have time to react to get a hit landed. \$\endgroup\$ – Escoce Jan 15 '16 at 14:55

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.