11
\$\begingroup\$

If a rogue with flying ends their turn 5 ft above someone, does that mean the target cannot move without provoking an attack of opportunity (and thus, a potential Sneak Attack)?

The two parties are already engaged in combat, so all pursuant rules apply. Also, I realize they can spend their action to Disengage, but the question still holds.

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

I'm not sure why there is any doubt about this:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

If the putative rogue has a reach of 5 feet or more, a reaction available and the target is visible then if the target leave's the rogue's reach using their own movement then they rogue can launch an Attack of Opportunity.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The only doubt was due to the not knowing if flight affected the results in any way. Thank you. \$\endgroup\$ – Sawyer Jan 17 '16 at 23:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What is it in the rules on flying that led you to this doubt? \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jan 18 '16 at 0:51
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Unfamiliarity with the rules can lead one to verify that they are not making an assumption based on insufficient knowledge. I.e. You don't know what you don't know. I don't think the "I'm not sure why there is any doubt about this" adds anything useful to the answer. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Jan 20 '18 at 23:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.