Take the following example.

  • Level 1-3: Wizard
  • Level 4: Cleric
  • Level 5: Wizard => I learn two new spells

Can I learn Fireball? (the arcane spell)

There is a line on (p. 58)

If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slost, but only to cast your lower-level spells.

Based on the table, it looks like a Wizard 4 / Cleric 1 will have 2 spells slots at 3rd level. So this kind of sounds like "spell higher than I can prepare".

But, from the SRD (p. 51)

You prepare the list of wizards spells that are available for you to cast... The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spells slots.

Based on this line, I do have 3rd level spell slots, so I can cast & learn Fireball. The text for Cleric is very similar and also seems to imply that Wizard 16 / Cleric 1 can cast True Ressurection.

However, I feel like 80% confident on this front. Has there been any errata / public clarification here? The SRD is only like a week old at this point.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for closing, I spent 5 minutes looking for that answer and could not. \$\endgroup\$ – Gates VP Jan 22 '16 at 22:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ You're not the first person - if you have any suggestions for making it more findable please feel free to edit it. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jan 22 '16 at 23:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ I also don't know why you got downvoted - it's a great question even if it's already been asked. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jan 22 '16 at 23:01

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.