Assume the character build Any Monk 5/Moon Druid 2, wildshaped into a Brown Bear:

On their turn, can they use their attack action twice to multiattack?

up vote 20 down vote accepted

No. Extra Attack doesn't give you two Attack actions, it gives you two attacks per Attack action. A 5th-level monk still only has one Attack action.

That means that not only do you not get two Multiattacks, but if you take the Multiattack action you don't get a second attack from Extra Attack either, because only the Attack action triggers Extra Attack's benefits.

  • 3
    This is probably a good thing, considering that would be 54 damage per turn on average with a string of two brown bear multiattacks, followed by a flurry of blows, assuming all the hits connected. – Dumpcats Jan 28 '16 at 0:17
  • 2
    @Dumpcats "Attack action" is different from "attack" – Joshua Aslan Smith Jan 28 '16 at 14:26

The Monster Manual (p. 9) says:

ACTIONS

When a monster takes its action, it can choose from the options in the Actions section of its stat block or use one of the actions available to all creatures, such as the Dash or Hide action, as described in the Player's Handbook.

If Multiattack is one of those options; then the druid is choosing the Multiattack action, not the Attack action and does therefore not meet the prerequisites of any class that give Extra Attack.

If the Druid is currently a Brown Bear and wishes to attack on their turn they can choose the following actions:

  • Multiattack and get 1 bite and 1 claw attack
  • Bite and get 1 bite attack
  • Claw and get 1 claw attack
  • Attack and get as many attacks as their class(es) allows which can be any of Bite, Claw or Unarmed or a substitute (Shove, Grapple etc.).
  • Does this answer also negate the possibility of using Flurry of Blows with Multiattack, considering there is a distinction between an attack and a multiattack? – Dumpcats Jan 28 '16 at 0:22
  • 1
    Yes a Multiattack (like Hide or Dash) action is not the Attack action – Dale M Jan 28 '16 at 0:27

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.