11
\$\begingroup\$

Following on from this question: Do any feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

It seems all feats carry over to your new form if your new form is capable of using them (so Mounted Combatant and Inspiring leader would usually be ruled as unusable in most circumstances). But what about Tough?

Your hit point maximum increases by an amount equal to twice your level when you gain this feat. Whenever you gain a level thereafter, your hit point maximum increases by an additional 2 hit points.

Would this increase your maximum HP by the same amount when in the form of a rat, or brown bear?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Albert Masclans' and adclark09's answers outline the two possible interpretations of the rules, and I don't know which is correct. The order of operations and whether current or base HP is overridden are the issue. \$\endgroup\$
    – Temp
    Commented Jan 28, 2016 at 16:30

1 Answer 1

16
\$\begingroup\$

I'd say this question is pretty much answered in the very same question you provided.

Even though you retain all the benefits from the feats you have, the game statistics are changed, and that includes HP.

That means that you will not retain the extra HP from Tough for the duration of the Wild Shape since beast's HP override yours.


As clarified in a comment by Miniman:

Tough changes your HP maximum when you level rather than all the time.

\$\endgroup\$
2

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .