1
\$\begingroup\$

Can a character put skill ranks into skills at level 1? I am brand new to Pathfinder and don't know if that's allowed. All the information I get is from Masterwork Tools, which was very vague on the subject.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site. Take the tour. I've taken the liberty of editing your question's tags and the question itself; if I've made an error, feel free to correct it. Thank you for participating, and enjoy your new experience with Pathfinder. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 3, 2016 at 18:30

2 Answers 2

8
\$\begingroup\$

Chargen software is useful but is no substitute for learning the rules for creating a character. To learn the rules of creating a character you should read the “Generating a Character” section of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook (p. 14), or the Character Creation section of the online System Reference Document (SRD).

For skills, the answer is found in Step 4 (in the book; oddly it's Step 5 in the SRD), which instructs you to (and how to) allocate your skill ranks at 1st level.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Masterwork Tools is an app that contains everything available from the Pathfinder Open Reference SRD. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 3, 2016 at 19:39
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

Skill ranks are awarded at level 1, using the listed value under your class entry. You can only assign one rank in a skill per level, so at first level any given skill can only have 1 one rank.

In addition, class skills (listed under the class entry in MWK Tools) gain a class bonus of +3 as long as you have spent at least one rank in the skill.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .