6
\$\begingroup\$

To be more specific, the character in question is a Ranger using the 'ranger without spells' from the UA article on variant class designs, but the same thing can be done by a fighter-3 (battlemaster)/ranger (hunter)-3. And we also have Rogue (Assassin)-6.

Our ranger and our rogue are both adjacent to a troll and no other enemy is adjacent to the troll. The ranger attacks, dealing damage, then declares the use of Horde Breaker because the rogue is "a different creature that is within 5 feet of the target and within range of your weapon". (Horde Breaker)

Then our ranger proceeds to "forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of your companions to strike," (Commander's Strike) and has the rogue assassinate the troll, again.

So, Can you use Horde Breaker to gain an additional attack (against an ally) and then give up that attack for commander's strike so your ally gains an attack?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Commander's strike (PHB, p.74).

Commander’s Strike. When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action ...

The fighter/ranger needs to opt to forego one of their attacks when they take the action (and, at 3rd/3rd level, that's their only attack). Note that it's when you take the Attack action, not while you are taking it. Horde Breaker's attack isn't triggered until an attack is made, so it's not "available" to forego when the Attack action is taken.

That's the RAW answer; as a DM I'd disallow it regardless.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Horde Breaker says:

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

and Commander's Strike says:

When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action ...

You take the Attack action meeting the first criteria of Commander's Strike. You make the attack while another creature is within reach of your weapon and 5 feet of the target meeting the criteria for Horde Breaker. You gain an extra attack which is not a bonus action so must still be under the umbrella of the Attack action (not that this is a requirement). You forgo that attack meeting the second criteria of Commander's Strike and use your bonus action meeting the third.

Well spotted.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.