9
\$\begingroup\$

One of my characters recently received the Luck Blade magic item with 2 wishes in it. The item states

Wish. The sword has 1d4-1 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 charge and cast the wish spell from it. This property can't be used again until the next dawn. The sword loses this property if it has no charges.

The spell is cast from the blade. So would my character suffer the negative effects of wishing for anything besides copying a spell since it states the spell is cast from the luck blade?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

The Luck Blade says:

you [...] cast the wish spell from it.

The spell may be cast from the blade but you are still the one casting it. Therefore, you would still suffer the negative effects of wishing for anything besides copying a spell.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

In a quote, "It is not hands that summon us. It is desire!"

Powerful uses of the Wish spell are exceptionally strenuous as spelled out in the spell. Whether you are casting it from a scroll, from a ring, from a magic sword, or even straight from your mind all that matters is you are casting it and that kind of mojo has a price.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.