Is it technically possible for a tiefling to use its darkness to affect a large object such as himself? If yes, could this be treated as a stealth bonus in the dark? My level 7 tiefling Dex-based stealth fighter would find this really useful.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site. Take the tour. I've edited your question so it sounds less like a poll, which the site frowns upon. Questions are usually answered from the rules first unless you're actually looking for house rules. It also sounds like you're new to Pathfinder (or, at least, its spells)--stay strong! Keep in mind that spells, despite their complexity, unless the GM says otherwise will usually only do what they say they do (with sometimes hilarious consequences). The site is happy to help with attempts at interpreting them, however. Thank you for your participation, and have fun. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 7 '16 at 12:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I was looking for the rule-based answer. May I ask why all the edits? Is it a length issue? \$\endgroup\$ – Alex Agapov Feb 7 '16 at 12:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's a clarity issue. While extra information necessary for answering the question is encouraged (for example, character optimization questions require a lot of information), unless the other information is necessary or requested by comments for clarification, other information tends to distract from the question, with folks sometimes answering parts of the question you didn't need or want answered! You can include other information (like I did here), but, for example, I didn't want the poll-type ending of your original to attract downvotes. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 7 '16 at 12:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, it's a good idea to wait, like, a day before accepting an answer. Accepting an answer too early discourages others from posting their own competing answers that could have been more useful than the first one. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 7 '16 at 12:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see. It's just that I found this answer really fulfilling and didn't think about the community's possible need for a different kind of reply. Thanks again! Will be aware from now on. \$\endgroup\$ – Alex Agapov Feb 7 '16 at 14:16

Most GMs will probably rule that the tiefling can't target its own body with its darkness

According to rules, the typical tiefling's spell-like ability darkness works just like the 2nd-level Sor/Wiz spell darkness, and that spell has as its target object touched. As the typical tiefling isn't usually an object but a creature, it would take a liberal GM to allow the tiefling to slap the darkness effect directly on itself rather than than, for example, a weapon it's wielding or its armor. However, once the darkness effect's in place, it may be possible for the tiefling to hide within the area.

You can learn more about light levels (which are fairly complicated and resist a simple summary) here. The area's light level must be at least dim (i.e. granting a 20% miss chance due to concealment) for the typical creature to make Stealth skill checks to hide within. The tiefling spell-like ability darkness reduces the light level in the affected area by one step.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! This seems like the answer I was looking for. Lots of reading ahead! \$\endgroup\$ – Alex Agapov Feb 7 '16 at 12:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ Could a tiefling cast darkness on an object he's wearing or carrying - for example, his sweatband, thereby creating a mobile darkness effect that moves around with him and hides his terrible fashion sense? \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Feb 7 '16 at 23:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GMJoe Already mentioned ("[I]t would take a liberal GM to allow the tiefling to slap the darkness effect directly on itself rather than than, for example, a weapon it's wielding or its armor"), but should I make it clearer that after i'ts used the effect moves with the tiefling? (I thought that was clear, but I'll edit if it's not.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 8 '16 at 4:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Lessening one's visibility by using darkness on equipment seems legit to me. \$\endgroup\$ – Alex Agapov Feb 8 '16 at 7:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AlexAgapov O, it totally is! (The only difficulty is that normally the game's played top-down, so on a large enough playing surface, a player can metagame to determine the darkness effect's center (even if the character couldn't) and launch attacks at that center space and, likewise, the tiefling; of course, as the tiefling could use the spell-like ability on an object then drop the object yet remain hidden in the area, that's not really that big of a deal.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 8 '16 at 8:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.