The spell Forbiddance reads:

Forbiddance seals an area against all planar travel into or within it.

Can this area be mobile? Such as a the deck of a ship?

More specifically, my campaign is in Eberron, can this be used on an airship?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Although yours is more specific, I think it's generally pretty close to the question Do spell effects move if the object they are cast on moves? (which, incidentally, also mentions airships). \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 14 '16 at 13:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Yes, that seems to be the basis of this question. Should I close this as a duplicate? Even though the other question has no answer? \$\endgroup\$ – Inbar Rose Feb 14 '16 at 13:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I only hesitated in case there was something specific to the spell forbiddance that made it different from the other possibilities mentioned in the other question's answers; as that doesn't appear to be the case, closing it as a duplicate's probably the best way to go. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 14 '16 at 13:37

There is no RAW answer

The rules do not address this case (casting an location-based spell on a movable location). You would have to venture outside RAW to find an answer.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, that is to say that there is no mention in the RAW anywhere about whether spells are fixed or relative in their position? \$\endgroup\$ – Inbar Rose Feb 14 '16 at 13:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is correct - though you may want to specify the scope of RAW you want, as I'm sure some third party naval supplement somewhere addresses it. These is a Pathfinder AP player's guide that does, for example... \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk - SE stop being evil Feb 14 '16 at 13:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ I will accept this because it is pretty much is the only answer I will get with RAW. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$ – Inbar Rose Feb 14 '16 at 13:38

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.