During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also doubled? I'm assuming yes based on the last statement in the Critical Hits section, but I wanted to confirm.

Trip Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to knock the target down. You add the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll, and if the target is Large or smaller, it must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, you knock the target prone.

Critical Hits When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target. Roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal.... If the attack involves other damage dice, such as from the rogue’s Sneak Attack feature, you roll those dice twice as well


marked as duplicate by daze413, Miniman dnd-5e Mar 23 '17 at 9:10

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.



"If the attack involves other damage dice" sounds like a pretty solid indicator that "Superiority Dice" would be multiplied, if a maneuver were used that adds the result as damage.

While not applicable to everybody, that sounds like an awesome way to add extra damage to multiply (not that superiority dice are really game-breaking for additional damage) after learning that an attack hit... but I'd allow it, regardless.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.