We played with the Deck of Many Things last night and a character drew the card that gives you 50000 XP. The character was 14 and the XP amount was enough for him to gain the next two levels. 15 and 16. Is there a rule in 3.5 to not let that happen? I remember reading somewhere that an encounter can only give you enough XP to gain a level and you stop at 1 XP before the level after that. Can someone guide me to that rule if it exists?
P.S. I know that playing with the Deck of Many Things is a bad idea generally, but this was the session that ended a long going campaign and the players actually wanted to do that.
P.S.2 I am treating the gain of the XP by the card as an encounter.