6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm trying to create a Blackguard multiclass-vampire. One of the multiclass-vampire feats called "Thirst for Blood" allows you to "Choose one of your encounter attack powers that has a level. You lose that power and gain blood drinker" - however, the only leveled encounter power a Blackguard has is Dread Smite, and I don't want to lose it.

The Half-Elf Dilettante ability allows you to choose an encounter power from other class' at-wills. Now, I can't see anything in the rules that wouldn't allow me to replace that power with the Blood Drinker power - thus gaining it while keeping Dread Smite. Since the feat description of Thirst for Blood does not state that it must be a class encounter power, merely an encounter power with a level, surely the Dilettante level 1 power must qualify?

The official DnD 4e character creator won't let me select it to replace, but I'd like to hear what your interpretations of the rules are. It seems to me as though it should be allowed.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot trade away your Dilettante power with Thirst for Blood.

From PHB1, pg27, Half-Elves (emphasis mine):

Dilettante: At 1st level, you choose an at-will power from a class different from yours. You can use that power as an encounter power.

The key here is that the power you get from Half-Elf Dilettante is a level 1 at-will power, not an encounter power. Half-Elf Dilettante only lets you use that power once per encounter, but the power itself still is an at-will power, and therefore not eligible to trade away with Thirst for Blood.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.