I'm thinking of playing a sorcerous Illusionist in a DnD 5E campaign. There may also be a combat mage in the party. I was just wondering if clever use of illusions could be on par, combat-wise with a proficient regular wizard. We also have a hammery cleric. Are there any situations in which one is more effective?
closed as primarily opinion-based by Miniman, Wibbs, Derek Stucki, Oblivious Sage, user17995 Feb 24 '16 at 21:51
Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.