20
\$\begingroup\$

This is probably really obvious, but I scoured the rulebooks and the SRD and I can't figure out what squeezing is.

For example:

Amorphous. The pudding can move through a space as narrow as 1 inch wide without squeezing.

So what would a character without Amorphous have to do?

\$\endgroup\$
43
\$\begingroup\$

Check out the Player's Handbook, page 192:

Squeezing into a Smaller Space: A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it’s in the smaller space.

Creatures without Amorphous are usually governed by that rule.

As pointed out by @Adeptus, the rule is also available in the SRD (page 92) and the Players Basic Rules (page 71 in the print version, Combat > Movement and Position in the web version).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So basically, when squeezing a creature moves at half speed? \$\endgroup\$ – Cronax Feb 25 '16 at 8:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, and is also hindered when attacking, and easier to attack. \$\endgroup\$ – mech Feb 25 '16 at 8:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.