The rulebook states:
A character's Water Ring is considered two Ranks lower (to a minimum of one) for the purposes of determining how far he can move using Move Actions when on difficult terrain. [...]
This is all well and good, but leaves a bunch of edge cases open to interpretation. In particular, what happens if difficult (or moderate) terrain only covers part of the area you were intending to move across?
By way of example, four samurai are competing in a footrace over uneven terrain. Each of them has Water 4 and so can normally move 40 feet in a Simple Action. Each of them takes a Simple Action to move.
- 1-san's path is completely clear. He moves 40 feet.
- 2-san's path is covered in thick bushes. He is considered to have a Water of 2, and so only moves 20 feet.
- 3-san's path is almost completely clear, but there's a small thicket of undergrowth right in front of him. Even though he will only be moving through it for ~5 feet, does it still reduce his effective Water to 2 for the entire move and so cost him 20 ft of movement?
- 4-san's path is like 3-san's path, except the patch of bushes is 25 feet away from him. If trying to cross it were to reduce his Water to 2, he wouldn't even be able to get far enough to reach it in the first place (and presumably would therefore be limited to 25 ft of movement as entering the bushes would mean moving beyond 20ft). Is this correct?
Optimally, an answer would point me to a section of the rulebook I have missed, errata, or a statement from the developers.